Graduates celebrating by throwing their caps

Student Visa

General information only, not legal advice. This page gives general information about a Canadian immigration topic as understood in 2026. It is not legal advice, it does not guarantee any outcome, and it is not a substitute for advice on your own case from a licensed immigration consultant or lawyer. Immigration rules, figures, and fees change, so always confirm the current requirements on the official Government of Canada immigration and citizenship pages before you apply or rely on anything here.

Most international students need a study permit to study in Canada. A study permit is an immigration document that allows you to study at an approved institution for the length of your program.

How it generally works

  1. Admission first. You usually need an acceptance letter from a designated learning institution (DLI) before you apply.
  2. Prepare your application. Applications typically include your acceptance letter, a provincial or territorial attestation letter (PAL or TAL) unless an exemption applies, proof that you can support yourself during your studies, and identity documents. Some applicants are also asked for medical examinations or biometrics.
  3. Submit and wait for a decision. Immigration authorities review your application and decide whether to issue the permit.
  4. Arrive and study. Once approved, you travel to Canada and present your documents on arrival.

Provincial or territorial attestation letter

Most applicants applying from outside Canada need a PAL or TAL as part of a study permit application, unless an exemption applies. From January 1, 2026, master's and doctoral students at public DLIs are exempt from the PAL requirement. Exemptions change, so check the current list on the Government of Canada study permit pages before you apply.

Proof of funds in 2026

For applications made on or after September 1, 2026, a single applicant applying outside Quebec must show at least $23,448 for living costs for the first year, in addition to first-year tuition and travel costs to and from Canada. The amount was $22,895 for applications made from September 1, 2025 to August 31, 2026. Applicants bringing family members must show more, with the amount rising by family size. This figure is reviewed each year, so confirm the current amount on the Government of Canada study permit pages before you apply.

Working while you study

Eligible full-time students can work up to 24 hours per week off campus during regular school terms, and full time during scheduled breaks, as long as they continue to meet their study permit conditions. You need a Social Insurance Number (SIN) to work in Canada. See our work permit page for more detail.

After graduation

Graduates of eligible programs may be able to apply for a post-graduation work permit (PGWP) of up to 3 years. See our work permit page for the eligibility rules.

What this page does not state

This page does not state government application fees, processing times, or the current annual study permit intake figure, because they change and depend on where you apply from. Confirm current fees, times, and intake figures on the Government of Canada immigration pages before you apply.

We help students prepare study permit applications with care, so the file is complete and clearly presented, and we explain each step as we go. Ask us about your study permit application.